Teardrops from Heaven

Conny Schättle
Oct 30, 2020

--

All my life, I have written poems. When I was 8 the words started to come in a shaky handwriting.
I am 40 years old now, and over the past 15 years the words somehow became less. I missed them, I felt empty without the words. Somehow I felt that I should do something useful with my time. Writing poems was not one of the useful things, so I stopped.

I would like to share a poem with you that I wrote a few years back. I still like it.

Not a teardrop itself, but the rainbow, that appears when teardrops meet the sun

Teardrops from Heaven

I came to find life,
Always trying to survive

I walked to find freedom
Barefoot over glass
A thousand needles stuck in my heart

Silence, cold and crystal clear
Like wisdoms whisper in my ear

Prisoner of my own thoughts
Locked up in a cage
Never to fight again

My soul flying over winter’s world
Trying never to get hurt

My scars never heal
My heart never bleeds

Teardrops from heaven
My mind spinning
Singing songs of praise

Fading shadows in the water
Another step out into the rain
Another step out into darkness

Teardrops from heaven
Falling, falling on my mind
Teardrops from heaven
Catch them, kiss them
Kissing my mind

--

--

Conny Schättle

I have always liked words. To me they are secrets that, like the butterfly’s wings sometimes conceal their real beauty until we open up to them.